top of page

Be Grateful: Teaching by Example

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I thought I'd write a post on gratitude. Normally in November, I like to post one thing I'm grateful for each day. By the end of the month I feel so uplifted because for 30 days I have been consciously grateful for all the good in my life. You'd be amazed at all the little things we don't actively think about that really we should take a minute to be thankful for.

I'd like you to try something for me. Think about a day that just didn't go well. Think about how easy it was to get stuck in that negativity. Think about how defeated you feel when you're thinking "seriously, can one more thing go wrong?"....ok....now-was that any fun? Did it make your day, or the situation any better? What about your family-did you enjoy your time together? Probably not.

Here's what I've been doing. In any negative thought, I try to find the good. "Ugh! There are tools everywhere!"---Silver lining: My husband can fix the majority of things in our home. For that, I'm very grateful. "The heater in this room kicks on and off!" Hey....at least we have heat! "I can't believe that car just cut us off!"...I'm thankful we were watching and we are all safe.

So what's my point? Well, it's simply this. Your children learn from you. They learn how to relate to the world around them based on how you react, and relate to those around you. They learn all sorts of things from just soaking in the character, habits, and vocabulary of the people they spend the most time with. Most likely, that's you. Kids take all that information and it helps define who they become as people. Not just the person they are now, but the person they will grow into as an adult. How do you want to raise them? To live in the positive, or the negative? To look for someone wronging them, or to be tolerant of others? To hold a grudge, or brush it off?

Now, I'm not implying that everything your child does came right from you. There are so many outside influences-friends, family members, classmates, teachers, coaches, etc. And beyond that, kids are just little people with their own personalities and ways of handling things. There will be times you think, "Where in the world did that come from!," and even though you swear you taught them otherwise, they will probably do the very thing you asked them not to do. Kids.

My suggestion to you is to be verbally grateful every day. Be purposeful, and thoughtful in showing thanks to others. Share in expressing kind words and showing tolerance and your children will learn to do the same. Tell them the wonderful things you're thankful for, and they will want to join you. In a negative situation, find the positive together. If someone does something to "wrong" you-talk to your child about how you're going to let it go. Doesn't it just make you want to sing that song from Frozen?? :)

Something I say to my class all the time is, "Be your best self." If I expect that from my kids, I need to show that in my words and actions.

On this Thanksgiving Eve, I am thankful for many things. Here's a list from the top of my brain:

1. My family and the family I married into. I love them all, I am very blessed.

2. My faith, which guides my path.

3. My wonderful friends that are there through anything.

4. All the sweet little kiddos that share my classroom.

5. My amazing work family. I am part of a wonderful team that supports each other. I am thankful for them all.

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your friends and family. Now go forth, and share your gratitude!

XO

AC

be your best self.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page